Women of the Deep

Date

27 April

Location

Virtual

https://www.explorers.org/events/detail/women-of-the-deep

Please join us for “Women of the Deep” on Tuesday, April 27 at 4 pm PST (7 pm ET, 11 pm GMT) hosted by The Explorers Club.

Meet intrepid women of The Explorers Club who explore the deep sea and create tools to increase our understanding of the vast, uncharted depths of our blue planet.

Oceanographer Dr. Vicki Ferrini shares a global collaboration to map the entire, uncharted seafloor by 2030. Marine geologist “Deepsea Dawn” Dr. Dawn Wright recounts her submersible dives to the most geologically active areas of the ocean floor. Bioluminescence scientist, Dr. Edith Widder, who developed “Eye-of-the-Sea” camera system, describes being eye to eye with a Giant Squid in its natural habitat for the first time in history. Jenifer Austin, who founded Google’s Ocean Program, takes us on a virtual tour of the ocean floor. Moderated by explorer and ecopreneur Martha Shaw, the program highlights how ocean technology is helping to shatter the blue “glass ceiling” for women in the field of ocean exploration. Followed by Q & A.

Streaming live on Explorers.org, our YouTube channel and our Facebook Live–Tuesday, April 27 at 7:00 ET

Read More

Keep Exploring

Calendar

Explore latest ocean-related stories, resources, and videos from the UN World Oceans Day community!

Learn More
Organizational Partners
In Partnership With